How to play Civilization V online


The following post was not writen by me. Original post can be found here. I cannot confirm whether this works 100% or not, I might in the future though.

1) Install Civilization 5 Skidrow release
2) Apply Skidrow crack
3) Edit steamclient.dll (in game directory) using notepad or hex editor replacing SKIDROW with your Steam Username – Screenshot
4) Start Steam and login to account u entered in steamclient.dll (you can create new account or use existing one)
5) Run Civilization 5 and go to Multiplayer (not LAN!)
6) Play the game! – Screenshot

Notes:
1. Editing steamclient.dll and starting a game will give you an error, just ignore it.
2. You dont need Tunngle or Hamachi.
3. Connecting to LAN games using this method with Tunngle / Hamachi not working! – stuck on Retrieving Host Information.
4. You can use SmartSteam or regular Steam, no difference just keep logged in.

Additional notes:

– Support those who make it happen (that you can play online)

– Support the developers – If you like the game buy it!

Comments
31 Responses to “How to play Civilization V online”
  1. Kito says:

    You are a true GENIUS!!!!! This method work very well!
    THANKS

  2. Mortis19 says:

    Hello, I keep getting “error joining multiple session” when I try to host a game… I tried to checked the post in cs.rin.ru but the page isnt loading… Can you help me?

    • Pumpkin says:

      Is your game updated? I saw that there were quite a few updates. CS.RIN.RU will be up they are probably just updating or something.

  3. Patrick says:

    the internet button is lit up blue and says “to play internet games it needs to be launched with steam active, and an active internet conncetion” i have both and it wont let me click it help

  4. waqar says:

    the muliplayer page opens but no servers are present and when i try to create it gives an error
    PLlllllllllzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz PPPPPPLzzzzzzzzzz help i think ur a genius plz help!

  5. Mikii says:

    after step 3)” Edit steamclient.dll (in game directory) using notepad or hex editor replacing SKIDROW with your Steam Username”
    I get error message :’The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application.
    I have instaled Civ 5 SKIDROW relise and “Sid Meier’s Civilization V Update 7” also skidrow relise.

    please advice.

  6. Mikii says:

    i fix the error message.
    in steamclient.dll word skidrow must be replaced with 7 letters no more no less.

    but I keep getting “error joining multiple session” when I try to host a game…

  7. wil myers says:

    when i try to save it it says access denied

  8. cristi says:

    i get an error that says bad image after modifying the dll file….i can’t ignore it the game won’t start

  9. WhatTheFuck? says:

    What’s a crack? Where do I get it? What does 3) mean? How do you do 3)? When I open it with Steam it does not do shit.
    I HATE NOT BEING NERDY AS SHIT.

  10. i dont understand the meaning of replacing the SKIDROW with my steam name? plz help buit of a noob :S

  11. Izaqui Iltom says:

    Man you are a genius thank so much

  12. Petar says:

    When i try to replace the SKIDROW name in steamclient.dll with my username it says that steam client is rad only file and i cant save it
    😦 help

  13. Nate says:

    Hey, Whenever I try to edit my Steamclient.dll it says “you cannot save here, please salect another location”
    I also dont know how to run it through steam as i am new to SKIDROW. could someone please help me?? :/

  14. spark020 says:

    I am not getting any servers showing. When I try to host a game it gives me error. I want to play with my friend on a public server is it possible? He has bought version of the game

  15. Jeux moto says:

    Very useful, this article ! Thanks to you !

  16. Hi mates, how is everything, and what you would like to say on
    the topic of this piece of writing, in my view its in fact remarkable designed for me.

  17. does this work on other games

Leave a comment